Thread: Moving to Prince of Wales - Fishing Advice?

Default Moving to Prince of Wales - Fishing Advice?

If this is the wrong forum for this let me know as I'm a newbie to the site. Well, I'm headed down to POW for work from April through the summer and was hoping to get some lip rippin advice. I am pretty familiar with steelhead/salmon fishing but maybe I could get some tips on baits to use and where to start looking for some good fishing (without divulging secret holes of course). I was also thinking about getting a boat to fish out on the ocean with, any chance I could find one there, and good/bad idea? Thanks in advance for the advice!

Last month's edition of Fish Alaska magazine was devoted to Prince of Wales Island. I'd go to their website and order a copy for reference. It's certainly not going to cover all of the bases, but it's worth a read.

I have fished out of Craig for about 8 years, always done well, Halibut, Salmon, rock fish and lings, you can just mouch for them, a 4 oz weight, hook and a chunk of herring. Just drop it to the bottom, (fishing for Halibut and Ling), bring it up about 10 feet jig it (fishing for Kings), slow retrieve, stop every 10 feet jig, (fishing for rock fish), Most any place out by Noyes Island, Whale Island, Warren Island, There are a lot of charters out there, just watch where they go, when they leave, drop in behind them. Just do not get to close.

Hey thanks for the advice! I did get the January edition of Fish Alaska, great stuff in there, probably help out a lot!

If your looking for a boat there are many for sale there used. If you want new go to the Bay Company in Craig they have a few brands of boats and outboards to choose from. Anything from small skiffs to 30 foot offshore boats.

Hey Guys,

I wanted to order that magazine as well. Is it the January 2013 magazine? If so, the link to it on thier website doesn't mention POW.
    http://www.fishalaskamagazine.com/ar.../0113_TOC.html

Maybe I have the wrong link?