Thread: getting started

Default getting started

I am almost completely ignorant on this subject, so I need some advice. I've finally decided to enter the digital age and replace the old 35mm I've had for the last 15 years. I'm not ready to jump straight to a digital SLR. I don't think that I'm an accomplished enough photographer for that to be worthwhile yet, and I just can't justify spending the kind of money I have seen them going for. What I am looking for is a good camera with as much zoom as possible without needing additional lenses. It doesn't need to be "pocket sized," but I will be packing it when I go hunting, so I'd like it to be reasonably light and not too bulky. I don't care about movies, just pictures.
    I do most of my hunting up above the tree line. Last year I sat and watched a sow black bear with one black and one cinnamon cub on the opposite hillside about 1/2 mile away for 1/2 hour or so and was really wishing I could get a few pictures. I have no idea if that is even realistic with something less than an SLR, but I know its not with the camera I have now. I did a little looking around on eBay just to see what is out there on the internet, and it seemed like the Kodak C875 might have all the features I am looking for, but, as I said, I don't know enough about this to be sure. Any suggestions of models that might suit my needs would be appreciated. Pricing info would also be good.
    Thanks.

I haven't seen a Kodak camera I could recommend in several years. If you go to websites like http://www.dpreview.com, and take a look at their camera reviews, you don't see a lot of "Highly Recommended" ratings for Kodak. It's not that they are bad cameras. It's just that they are not really competitive with some of the other choices. That, and their image quality is generally less than the others in their price range.