Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bear fence usage question

Default Bear fence usage question

Doing a drop hunt for caribou this fall out of Happy Valley and have a question about how you guys setup your camp with electric bear fence(s). My first thought was to take 2 fences, one for around the tent and the second one for around a food/meat cache area. Or can I get by with one larger electric fence for everything ? That would mean the food/meat cache would be much closer to the tent.

Thanks

I have one, taken it out on caribou drop camps, never used it. That being said, if you are going to use them, I would recommend you separate the meat away from the tent area. Since most of the food we take is Mountain House and we keep it in dry bags, we have not had a problem with bears trying to get into the food. Ground squirrels however is another story. If you feel the need, then get two.

Welcome Husker! Good to have you on the forum. I am a grad from UNK (wrestled there) and coached in O'Neill for many years before coming to ALaska.

From My experience and my hunting clients a bear fence is a source of comfort. I have not had any bears come into any of my groups camps is 12 years. Noe that does not mean that they wound but just not to date. If you choose to take a fence take just one and use it around what you want to protect. Some guys fence in their tent some kitchen and some fence in the meat. The real key is keep a clean camp and place your kitchen away (down wind) from where you sleep. Keep your raft clean, hang your meat away from camp but with in sight of your camp and enjoy!

Have a great hunt!

Walt
    Northwest Alaska Back Country Rentals
    Unit 23-Kotz
    Drop camps and Float hunts
    www.northwestalaska.net

Having never camped in bear country before, the electric fence will allow us to sleep better.

Walt,