Thread: Why does fresh snow shut down my line?

Default Why does fresh snow shut down my line?

Im fairly new to trapping but one thing i have noticed is every time it snows the area I'm working just shuts down for a few days. Has anyone else noticed this or know why this occurs?

Depends if you are talking during the front or after. Just after is money! I love fresh snow I usually put off checking my line and look for new area. Fresh track is the key to s successful line. Good luck!

It is likely that you aren't seeing the number of tracks due to the fact that the critters just aren't there producing them. It takes a few days for them to run their territory. Just check a rabbit hot spot the morning after a big snow then check it again 48 hours later the # of tracks will be largly different as the same animals are making them it is the same with other animals a lot of the time a lot of tracks are made by just one or two critters repeating the places they have run between snow falls
    meats meat don't knock it till you try it

Good input from Teacherman and Otterman, coyotes typically have a pattern they run every 3 - 5 days, fox run smaller circles so every 2 - 3 days usually for them. When they den up to have pups the females will be in a very tight pattern, but will run more often is my experience. Don't know anything about cats but I would guess they are somewhat similar....

Canines are also quite territorial, where you pick up multiple animals in consecutive days will be on their borders where different family groups will overlap. I love fresh snows as I cruise a lot of territory reading sign, stick with it and you will learn the better spots!
    When asked what state I live in I say "The State of Confusion", better known as IL....