Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bearcat, Tundra, or Scandic?

Default Bearcat, Tundra, or Scandic?

Hello. I am new to snowmachining (kind of). I had snowmachines when I was a kid and I have done a lot of riding with my friends who own snowmachines, but I have not personally owned one myself yet. I am wanting to get into it and mainly looking into buying some type of utility sled. My wife and I are interested in purchasing some remote land and we would like to build a cabin at some point. I would need a machine that can haul all the house logs, tools, and lumber out to the property. I have been reading about the different types of machines and I am kind of leaning towards either an Arctic Cat Bearcat, or else a Ski-doo Tundra or Scandic. My question to the experts is could tell me some of the pros and cons of the different make and models. I appreciate the advice.

The Bear cat and the skandic can handle heavier loads. Tundra does well also i prefer the tundra as it is more manuverable in the woods but is very tippy do to narrow ski stance but will go anywhere.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the outcome of the vote.--Benjamin Franklin

Having owned utility machines of all brand you mention, I can tell you right now, that the ski-doo line-up is light years ahead of the others. The new bearcats are laden with problems, you couldn't pay me to own one, though the older ones are excellent.

If going new, a skandic widetrack or super wide track is top of the line stuff.

I jumped on a 2012 skandic superwidetrack and beat the crap out of it. absolute monster of a machine. The suspension was comfortable, but still a super wide track though. It became more comfortable with two five gallon jugs on the back. When you talk about hauling building materials, a wide track may be best.

matnaggewinu