Thread: Reasonable Sheep Hunt Air Taxi ~ Is There Such a Thing?

Default Reasonable Sheep Hunt Air Taxi ~ Is There Such a Thing?

I've been beating the bushes for a couple months now. Despite speaking with a dozen pilots/services I find myself still without a ride.

Am I dreaming about the possibility of finding a reasonable drop hunt for around $2K?

I initially started my search with a very specific location in mind only to find out it's pretty much cinched up between the air operators and the guides.

We're looking for a harvest ticket hunt into an area where there's a decent chance of a legal ram for both my partner and I.
    Don't get me wrong ~ I recognize we'd be more likely to get only one [if we're lucky] but I've seen lots of pictures on this forum with multi-harvests.
    I also realize there will likely be others' in the area too...but, would hope there's a chance at getting inot a spot not crawling with other hunters ruining the stalk and causing nothing but confrontation.

While we've put in for draw permits we're not banking on getting them.

Any suggestions appreciated.
    If this sounds like a far-out request for information I apologize in advance.
    We have only limited sheep hunting experience but would really like a fair chance at a legal ram.

power commuting twixt the valley and anchorage

Are you looking in different mountain ranges, or one in particular?

There are several places that charge less than that but you have to know what is going on and book early. A deposit is a powerful thing.

Sincerely,
    Thomas

Appreciate the PM's and responses and yes we are willing to go to different ranges as it seems the closer spots are the more challenging.
    That said, we spread ourselves pretty thin doing as much as humanly possible so at this point sheep isn't our only gig.
    I'll keep the deposit thing in mind for sure.