Thread: Brass question

Default Brass question

I am a rookie loader. I was looking at loads in my Speer manual for .243win, it makes it very clear only to use winchester brass because of possible high pressure. My question is, is winchester brass that much stronger than others? Like I said, I am a rookie, and I don't think I am experienced enough to just guess on components, but I don't have any winchester brass, only federal and remington. I have a hard time believing that winchester brass would be that much better.
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

Winchester brass is what was used by Speer to establish that loading data. You can use any 243 brass you have. Just seperate by manufacturer and load in lots by brass manufacturer. Start with the a reduced powder loading of 2-3 grns and work up until you reach max or see pressure signs. Load maybe 12-18 rounds in each lot and check at the range; remembering that other factors affect the velocities and pressures besides just the powder charge.
    " Americans will never need the 2nd Amendment, until the government tries to take it away."

On the road of life..... Pot holes keep things interesting !

Default more capacity..

Winchester brass typically has a larger powder capacity that other brands - less material in the thickness of the walls and/or head. This has been a characteristic of Winchester brass for the 50 years of so I've been reloading. I've never heard of any problems with the Winchester brass being thinner - perhaps Winchester knows a bit more about brass since Olin is - or was- the largest brass maker in the US.

As other say - just drop the listed loads 10% or so and work up to best accuracy. Typically the maximum loads won't give the best accuracy anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by hoose35 View Post