Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scope for Handgun Hunting?

Default Scope for Handgun Hunting?

I've been giving more thought to hunting with a handgun next year. My main focus is getting my son out on his first critter and after last year's hunts realized I ended up carrying two rifles a fair bit....particularly late in the day when I didn't want to be schlepping two rifles around. We mostly hunt on foot and I'm already pack muling a lot of stuff.

So to that end- I've been thinking about using a handgun as a secondary weapon and my son using a rifle as our primary weapon. I'll most likely use a Ruger Bis Hunter in .44MAG.

After doing some longer range shooting with a couple of handguns, I believe a scope is in order but I have little experience with handgun scopes.

What are you guys using? Fixed 2.5, 4x or variable?
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit

Done a whole lot of it, but none in the last 10 years so my info is "less than current."

I found I could handhold and accurately shoot offhand a 2x on both revolvers and single shots, but not a 4x. Just to wiggly in my waggly old age. Also, on a SRH in 44, I just didn't need any more magnification within hunting ranges, rested or not. My picks were all Leupies. Ran all the way up to 6x on some of my singles in flat calibers that would be rested in any case, but for a do it all revolver, something in the 2x range was ideal for me.

Leupold 2X and good for life. As power goes up even the pulse of blood through you eye can give a wiggle to focus at least for me. I have used lesser brands on rifles with no problems but the Leupold I the only scope I've used that help up on 44mag and up handguns.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you