Thread: Chronograph Question

Default Chronograph Question

I'm hoping there is an easy answer to this question. How much if any velocity do I add, by having my chronograph 10 feet out from my muzzle?
    LIVE TO HUNT....HUNT TO LIVE!!!!

The bullet will generally continue to accelerate for about 15 feet from the muzzle. It won't be much. I saw a figure years ago but cannot remember it. It is less the 30fps though.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

It doesn't sound like its really enough to worry about. Thanks Nitroman

Quote Originally Posted by Nitroman View Post
    The bullet will generally continue to accelerate for about 15 feet from the muzzle. It won't be much. I saw a figure years ago but cannot remember it. It is less the 30fps though.
    I'm having a hard time accepting a bullet that continues to accelerate after it leaves the barrel. Out of the barrel it has no pressure pushing it, only gravity and atmospheric drag acting on it. I've seen ballistic calculations that correct for chronograph distance but I don't recall it adding velocity. I'm going to need to do a little research and figure this out.

Quote Originally Posted by marshall View Post
    I'm having a hard time accepting a bullet that continues to accelerate after it leaves the barrel. Out of the barrel it has no pressure pushing it, only gravity and atmospheric drag acting on it. I've seen ballistic calculations that correct for chronograph distance but I don't recall it adding velocity. I'm going to need to do a little research and figure this out.