Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bear spray in the class rooms?

Default Bear spray in the class rooms?

I don't know where to post this post but I don't recall anyone talking about this and thought I would throw this out for discussion.

While talking to a good friend of mine that lives in the lower 48 this afternoon he was explaining to me that some folks down there were looking for information on bear spray and would it possibly act as a deturrent on intruders. They thought it may be a non lethal alternative that could be put in every classroom. The reasoning behind it would be that it would take less proficiency than that of a firearm and less consiquences if tampered with by children and it would also eliminate the risk of a stray bullet. I'm no expert about these types of non lethal protection devices but it does seem to make some sence to me. After all if an intruder can't see or breathe it could give people some time to get away or fight back. I know this may not work all the time but every little bit helps.

What do you think?
    John
    Life is too important to be taken seriously.

Chinese proverb

I was thinking the same thing this morning.. The bear spray has range of 30feet I think... If I was a teacher I would have a can of it for sure... You imagine hey punk then one heavy ass dose of bear spray to the face... That stuff is CS gas on steroids for sure...

I think it would not stop the shooter plus it would also get the kids making it hard for them to see and get out of the room. Locked class room doors would be better in my OFO
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

I'm liking this method of thought. Add in some flash bangs and everyone lives.....unless the perp is wearing a mask or even experienced in how to handle pepper spray.

Still want a couple teachers / staff ccw with real ammo.