Thread: G20sf

Default G20sf

I just joined the GOG, Glock Owners Group. I've been tossing the idea around for a few years and decided now is the time to capture the benefits of the high capacity mag semi auto hand gun before any limits are placed on them going forward.

I realize there has been a ton of threads on the G20 but I'm hoping to get answers to a few key items without digging up and reading thousands of posts.

First of all I have large hands as do most men that do a lot of work with their hands, size 11. The reason I choose the SF model is the large bump on the lower end of the back strap that's on the standard model G20. That bump causes the muzzle to tilt down away from my natural point of aim and I do shoot several other hand guns so more natural is better for me rather than developing a separate Glock only style. The bump is much smaller on the SF model and fits the contour of my hand with a better feel.

There is a service at one of the better gun stores down here that reshapes the Glock grip, raises the trigger guard so the middle finger doesn't get whacked allowing a slightly higher grip and adds texture for wet weather handling. The turn around is 4-6 weeks, I'll post pics when she's returned.

My questions are about mods.

I understand the desire to switch connectors for a lighter trigger, I may or may not. I will shoot this gun first and decide. My H&K USP is stock and feels fine for my needs at work and in matches.

Why is it that guys are changing the recoil spring?

Is the factory spring defective, light, heavy, wrong for the factory loads that guys are shooting?

I understand the polygonal twist versus riffling debate but is shooting hard cast really an issue for those of you that have done it?

Is there another reason that an after market barrel would improve reliability? If so why and which barrel company?