Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie to Predator hunting... need help

Default Newbie to Predator hunting... need help

I live in fairbanks and I have occasionally shot a few predators while driving on the highways and just happened upon the critters, some lynx, a few fox, some coyotes, etc. Now I am wanting to get into it and get serious about it. I have a .243 Win Weatherby and a .17 HMR in the ruger m77. In the past I shot the 100 grain power points out of the .243 and the 20gr FMJ out of 17. the Many people I have talked to say that the 243 is not a good choice because it damages pelts pretty bad on the smaller critters, so i have been looking into getting a 22-250. Is the 243 a bad choice? and also, is there anyone who would be willing to help out a newcomer to the sport? I am a full time student and i do work two jobs to keep myself afloat but given the right circumstances I do have some mobility on availability. Any pointers on how to start out with what I have now? Any pointers on places to go relatively close to Fairbanks?

From what I've read you will probably do more damage with a 22-250 on smaller fur animals.

Very possible, that 100gr bullet tears stuff up pretty bad though. the last lynx i shot in unit 13 had a hole too big to repair.