Thread: 170a

Default 170a

So I might have a chance at a 1951 170a. It would be roughly $15K, and 2 years of work. I'm a 120 hr solo student, and have nearly unlimited access to a 150 HP 172 with 206 tires.

I understand that the 170a can be a handful- especially given my limited experience. Is it worth it to invest in a 170a, or should I just use the 172 for the cost of gas, insurance, and a share of oil and annual?

My goals are primarily off airport flying for 2 people for hunting and fishing.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Quote Originally Posted by Akheloce View Post
    So I might have a chance at a 1951 170a. It would be roughly $15K, and 2 years of work. I'm a 120 hr solo student, and have nearly unlimited access to a 150 HP 172 with 206 tires.

I understand that the 170a can be a handful- especially given my limited experience. Is it worth it to invest in a 170a, or should I just use the 172 for the cost of gas, insurance, and a share of oil and annual?

My goals are primarily off airport flying for 2 people for hunting and fishing.
    If it is the one here in Fairbanks, it ain't worth 15 in my opinion.
    Tim

Default 170a

Quote Originally Posted by mit View Post
    If it is the one here in Fairbanks, it ain't worth 15 in my opinion.
    It's one already acquired in Homer...the only question is whether or not it gets sold or kept.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

You better have some long off-airport landing/taking off areas if you are talking about a 145hp 170A...

Where is this C-170A you are talking about Tim? Is that the yellow and white one at Chena Marina?