Thread: Freezing eggs, what's best?

Default Freezing eggs, what's best?

When freezing eggs for a later date, is it better to cure 1st or after they have been thawed? Was planning on vac packing for the following year when returning.
    Would ziploc be better not to crush, but did not think they would handle the freezer well over a years time. Just need a few to get started before I got a hen.

Quote Originally Posted by Col. F Rodder View Post
    When freezing eggs for a later date, is it better to cure 1st or after they have been thawed? Was planning on vac packing for the following year when returning.
    Would ziploc be better not to crush, but did not think they would handle the freezer well over a years time. Just need a few to get started before I got a hen.
    I am not an expert, but I would think afterwards so that they could absorb the cure - then refreeze.

You can vacuum pack, just don't let it suck all of the air out, just make it where the bag is just about to crush them and then seal at that point. I would cure first cause frozen eggs do get kind of mushy, curing tightens and dries them up some, where you can still fish with them once out of the freezer again. I'm sure someone else will chime in on maybe a better way but good luck.
    If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip?

I've always cured first.
    Then I leave the eggs on a piece of wax paper on a cookie sheet in the freezer to partially freeze.
    Then vaccume pack. The partial freeze does two things first it keeps you from crushing eggs when you vac pack and second keeps you from sucking egg juice into your packer and also keeps from getting a poor seal due to contamination.

Cure first........if you freeze first the eggs will pop.......
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!