Thread: leverevolution powder

Default leverevolution powder

hodgedon powder is now producing leverevolution powder to be used to reload hornady's immensly popular leverevolution line of ammunition. along with the new hornady manual, bullets, and cases can now be purchased for the reloader. i have been using these products for about 3 years now and am sold on the factory ammunition. shooting my .35 rem with this ammo, i took three elk with three shots.
    this last year using reloaded cases in .338 marlin, two more elk with two shots.

testing ammunition over my crono they come in under posted factory velocities, but are far superior to standard loads. the excellent flex tip hornady bullets in either lead or mono core are very accurate, and provide a level of b.c. never before found in a traditional levergun.

i am sold on this combination, and offer my testimony as to the results.
    happy trails.
    jh

I bought a pound of it and am planning on trying it for my 338 federal. Hoping to get 2550 fps with the Nosler 210 gr. partition.

Quote Originally Posted by Eastwoods View Post
    I bought a pound of it and am planning on trying it for my 338 federal. Hoping to get 2550 fps with the Nosler 210 gr. partition.
    that sounds doable, and it should be about right for moose & bear.
    happy trails.
    jh

Eastwoods,

I'll look forward to your test results. I'm looking for a good load for my .338 Fed Tikka.
    Somewhere along the way I have lost the ability to act politically correct. If you should find it, please feel free to keep it.

Leverevolution has been great in my Tikka 338 federal, 2550fps with Swift SciroccoII. Another powder I've had success with is IMR 8208xbr and 185gr Barnes ttsx around 2700fps, both loads verified over chrony. To get 2550 with 210gr bullets is going to take a max load in my experience.