Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hydraulic Log Splitter

Default Hydraulic Log Splitter

Since my husband died, the boys and I have had a hard time keeping enough wood split using just a splitting maul. We have an electric log splitter, but I have never been able to start the big generator in the winter, so that's out for me. Some folks across the lake have a manual hydraulic splitter they ordered from Northern Tool. Anybody have any thoughts on something like that? I've never tried one before, but it seems like it would be quicker and easier than doing it all with a maul.

Easier yes, faster depends on the fitness of the one using the maul. The 130 dollar investment would be fine and the weakest link in the system would be the bottle jack's longevity. I'd remove it or protect it from the coldest weather and it should serve the purpose.

manual hydraulic as in no motor to power the hydraulic pump & cylinder or motorized, if you mean the manual non motorized i wouldnt waste your money or time, the power log splitters are awsome & you can split a yrs worth of wood in a day if you have the trees down & ready to split, i have 1 its a 35-ton & its awsome, although i still split a few pickup loads a yr by axe & maul my power hydraulic splitter is my bread & butter, i also sell a lot of firewood so it justifies me getting 1 so big but even if i didnt sell wood i would still own 1, they are easy to maintain & worth their weight in gold for time saved & less wear & tear on the body.

After more thought it does sound like you are using wood for your sole heat source. A gas hydraulic version (predatorhuntr01) uses would serve you well. A new 22 ton version starts around 1200 bucks and would save considerable "man hours." You could do a cord in 30-60 minutes verses about 4 hours of hand splitting.