Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice Fishing Tackle and Bait Thread

Default Ice Fishing Tackle and Bait Thread

I thought it would be interesting to see what others are using. I am not an expert ice fishermen by any means. I have been ice fishing for about 25 years, but I only go about 5 or 6 times a year. Most of the time I fish I use a simple lead headed jig with a rubber skirt on it baited with some shrimp, eggs, or herring. My favorite colors are a white body with a pink head, but I have used black and yellow, chartreuse ect. Occasionally I will throw on a swedish pimple or some other bright shiny metallic spoon. I also use a jig that looks like a juvenile smolt or forage fish of some sort. I will try to post some pictures of what I use tomorrow, but I was wondering if anyone else would care to share what works and doesn't work for them. I like reading some of the flyfishing threads where guys show pictures of the flies they use or make. I thought it would be cool to see what ice fishing lures, jigs, and baits people are using, what works well and doesn't work well, and what they are using them for.

My go to jig is the aero jig. This jig has caught me more fish and larger fish than any other lure/bait I take with me. I take a wide variety of jigs, and other lures but the aero jig is whats first tied on and what usually catche the most fish. Just my experience out there.

I'm new to ice fishing and have good success with swedish pimples, i'll have to try some different jigs.

Quote Originally Posted by AKnook View Post
    My go to jig is the aero jig. This jig has caught me more fish and larger fish than any other lure/bait I take with me. I take a wide variety of jigs, and other lures but the aero jig is whats first tied on and what usually catche the most fish. Just my experience out there.