Thread: Hunting partner here!

Default Hunting partner here!

Hi everyone,

My husband and I recently moved to Alaska (Eagle River) because of the Air Force. I have been working hard with my bow to gain the skills I need to hunt. I am looking for someone to take me under their wing and teach me the ropes. I am NEW to hunting (at least with a bow) and want to learn the right way. I am interested in all big game especially moose and bear and would really love to tag along on any hunts coming up for the season. Please send me a PM or post here and I can contact you if you'd be willing to help out a beginner! You were all beginners at some point.

Thanks!
    Kelly

Have you taken your Alaska bow certification course yet? If not this will be a great start and also a good chance to meet other hunters.

Quote Originally Posted by shimano 33 View Post
    Have you taken your Alaska bow certification course yet? If not this will be a great start and also a good chance to meet other hunters.
    You don't need a special Alaska certification course. If you have IBEP certification, that works just fine up here. If you get drawn for a special hunt such as one of the JBER archery hunts, you will need a separate certification that you will get through them at the time (can't be done ahead of time, so no reason to worry about it now).

Quote Originally Posted by anchskier View Post
    You don't need a special Alaska certification course. If you have IBEP certification, that works just fine up here. If you get drawn for a special hunt such as one of the JBER archery hunts, you will need a separate certification that you will get through them at the time (can't be done ahead of time, so no reason to worry about it now).