Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A little help with the draw please

Default A little help with the draw please

Im moving up in a few weeks and a high school friend has informed me that the draw ends on 12/17. I will be living in the Palmer area.
    I will go nuckin futz if I have to set a big game season out! Not an option!!!
    I am a bow hunter by trade, but I'm a hunter first and foremost, so I don't care what I'm hunting with.
    I will be bringing a quad with me, so that's going to have to be my transportation for now.

If you were me, and had to go hunting, but don't know where financially ypu'll be next season. AND have limited means of travel what would you do???

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

I would spend my year small game hunting, learning the regs and getting a feel for the way things work. Use the time to get your Bow certification and bear baiting class. Most new hunters here start with either Black Bear or Caribou and move onto other game from there. You will not qualify as a resident until you have physically lived in Alaska 365 days. The State has a high speed computer system, they use to proof the PFD applications and it has caught many folks trying to cheat on their residency. Save your boarding pass and airline ticket and get an Alaska DL as soon as you arrive.

Welcome and enjoy

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

You need to have a hunting license to apply for permits. Are you prepared to buy a non resident license and permits?

Many new hunters choose to not go for the non-res permit due to costs. Also many don't know where to go.

Solve both by offering to haul/pack/field-dress for any other ATV hunter and you'll solve both problems and likely make some good friends here. Of course this is just one of your many options.

Default Re: A little help with the draw please