Thread: Boat based hunt

Default Boat based hunt

Ok gang, I'm looking for suggestions for a guided boat based, or comfy remote camp, to take my dad and uncle on. Target species really doesn't matter, it's more about just spending some hunting time together. I owe them both for keeping me involved in the outdoors as a kid, and now I'm in a position to repay. I expect more than $3-$4kpp but can't afford $10pp.

Both are very mobile, but not capable of hiking over tundra, etc. Great guys, but would rather hang around camp, have a scotch and listen to guide stories.

I'm thinking black bear, would love grizzly, or some other type of big game.

Thank you!

Well, I guess I'll be the first to jump in here. I haven't done a "boat based hunt", but I have used a boat transporter for a deer hunt on Montague Island. I know there are some hunts like this around the state for deer, black bear, etc. You mentioned grizzly. That is a "brown" bear and would require a guide. I'm not an expert on hunting guides, but I have never heard of one guiding a bear hunt for $3-4k. You might have more luck in that price range for a transporter that just gets you around and then you do the hunt on your own.

I have looked into these guys and wanted to go for a few years, just never had the time. I've talked with them at our local Sportsmans Show and they seem like great folks.

http://www.coffmancoveak.com/

There you have options for deer or black bear.