Thread: Pike on Big Su / Deshka

Default Pike on Big Su / Deshka

Hi all, I'm new to pike fishing and I am looking for some info. Some things I am looking for are areas to fish for pike on the Su and Deshka. I have a 18 ft john with a 40 jet. So I can get around with no problems. I've heard about being able to get in to flathorn lake from the river and I am interested on trying to get there but I am also looking for some more areas to try closer to deshka landing. Up or down river. Also I've read here that the deshka also has pike. Can I get some detailed information on some areas to fish? I also heard about fish creek off kroto. How far up the creek do I need to go? I know thats asking a lot. But I've been fishing out of deshka landing for 3 yrs now and I'm still not having much luck out there. Got 1 King so far and a few silvers each year. I guess you can say I'm a rookie

I am also looking for some information on setups for pike fishing. IE: lures, line etc etc. I like to fish using a spining reel set up. I do have a fly rod and I might give that a try too. But I usualy use a spining real or bait caster.

If any of you guys use google earth feel free to send me some place marks on areas to fish :P

Just about anywhere in Fish creek you can get pike. Once you get about 1mile or so its gets real weedy so be careful or run a kicker motor hope this helps chris

I have spent some time looking for pike. Be careful going into Flathorn. The entrance to the lake is a bit tricky as it is shallow at times. It is best found using a GPS.

I have been to Fish Creek all the way up to the logjam. It looks like great pike water, but has not produced well for me. I have heard that there are some very nice fish in it. I have not seen them which I find unusual for pike water.

I have looked in the sloughs on Deshka but have not found any pike.... YET.

Carry a push pole.

Google Earth is a great tool to help find the sloughs and freshwater tributaries.