Thread: Draw confusion

Default Draw confusion

I was wondering if anyone could clear a few questions up for me concerning the drawing. I am wanting to put in for caribou, so should I do the Tier I or a draw tag? Also, if I do the Tier I do I put everyone over 10 in the household that may hunt, or everyone period? My wife will not hunt to save her life, so it's just me and the oldest boy that will be going. This is my first year to be able to put in for the tags, so I am a little confused. Thanks.

You of course have to make a choice. The Tier 1 tag is a family tag, which anyone in the family can shoot. You only get one tag that way, but it's a guranteed tag. You only put in one time for that tag. You have to list your family members on the application.
    If you put in for the drawing tag, for all three of your family, you could win three tags, or you could win no tags.

I personally did Tier 1 last year for the family, but this year I'm putting us all in individually for the drawing tags. Mainly because I'm hoping a healthy caribou herd will allow a lot of tags and good odds. But it is a chance of not being able to put a caribou on the table at all.

My boy will be 10 in Feb, and I already got him his hunter education. Your boy will need that also if he hasn't got it already.

Good luck!
    Claude
    Experience Real Alaska! www.alpinecreeklodge.com

Thanks for the information. I think I will just apply for the draw then. My son had hunters education when we lived in Arkansas, through the NRA summer camp he attended. I asked the ADFG and they did tell me he was good to go unless it was a restricted weapon hunt. Again, thanks for the information.

If you put in for tier 1, your whole household is allowed "1" caribou and you can only hunt moose and caribou in unit 13 only.

I would assume the odds for people would increase alot since they gave out so many permits this year. If you were drawn this year you cannot apply for the same hunt next year.