Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: a few trapping questions

Default a few trapping questions

hello i am new to trapping and only setting a few traps this year (marten and lynx maybe a couple fox snares) i have been looking at stretchers and all the ones im finding look to big for marten do any of you have plans for making my own. i can make the large stretchers that ive seen at stores but dont know how much smaller to make one for marten. another question (you can pm me this info if you dont want to post open) how do you dispatch of lynx when caught in a leghold without shooting it (the less holes to try to fix the better). one other thing if any of you live in the fairbanks/north pole area i would love to watch you skin a lynx, fox, wolf, or marten i want to make sure if or when i catch one i know exatly how to skin it properly (feet and head) so as not to waste the furs. i have een reading the forums and learning a lot from you guys but need a little more education thank you

matt

Matt,
    I just use Mink boards for stretching marten. Seems to be the right size and works well. You can order plans for making your own off of about any trapping store website. I prefer the wood over the wire, myself so that I can tac them down easier. Your welcome to visit and practice skinning, but I'm far from Fairbanks. Good luck!
    Claude
    Experience Real Alaska! www.alpinecreeklodge.com

Use wood boards instead of wire for sure. If you go to http://www.nafa.ca/wild-fur/resources, there is a link to the fur handling manual. It gives you the dimensions to use to make your own boards for all different critters.

For marten, a plain old 1x6 works just fine, if I remember right a 1x4 works for the female board. Just rough cut it with a skill saw and then take a hand plane and some sandpaper to smooth it out. The mink boards work for female marten, but are too small IMO for the large male marten we have in alaska.

Good luck.