Thread: 17hmr or 22lr for fox

Default 17hmr or 22lr for fox

i am new to predator hunting and am going to focus on fox as my first animal. I am thinking my shot will be within 50 yard which would be a better caliber fox fox i have acess to both.thank you

.17 hmr by far but in those ranges I prefer a shotgun.

17hmr by a long shot!

If you can fight the urge to take long shots the 17hmr is a great fox gun. I have taken a bunch with it myself and called in a couple others for buddies shooting HMRs, the only issues I have seen were on shots past 110-120yds. The HMR is outstanding for collecting pelts if you can keep them inside 100. Much past 100 the killing power fades and you will have wounded fox run off.

No exits and a tiny entrance. I would highly reccomend making a range finder part of your set up. Settle in and range some landmarks before you call so you can be sure of range and you will do great with it.

The 22lr works for close head shots but you dont get much in the way of terminal ballistics, and it drops quite a bit as you stretch the range. With the hmr if you can hit the chest cavity inside 100yds it will basically turn the vitals to mush without exiting, and is very flat shooting.

50yds it is magic, they will tip over dead, and usually the bullet hole is hard to find until you skin them. I think the HMR is the best rimfire round ever.

I would probably make the choice between the 17 HMR and the 22 mag for a fox gun, and I prefer the .17 myself. Both are excellent calibers and have great bullet selection available. But given your choices definitely the .17.