Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it too early to be baiting?

Default Is it too early to be baiting?

I just put out my bait station for the year. I have already started to bait. Does anyone think that it is too early. I baited before near the little su around this time. BUt this is my first time this early on the kenai. I am more worried I might get grizz other than black bears. DOES ANYONE THINK I AM STARTING TO EARLY?

Default too early?

I hope not.. my bait's been out 9 days, and getting hit. So far not a ton of activity, but sitting in my stand over active bait beats the heck out of sitting at home watching the tube... or worse yet, doing yard work!

Default Maybe a little early, Maybe not...

You might be a little early but you know what they say (early bird gets the worm). I spent alot of time out in my area Kasilof and in Soldotna and have not even saw a track yet. Doesn't mean there not out yet though. 2 bears were shot off my bait last year by may 10th and we saw alot more before that. I will be putting my bait out next week. As far as brown fuzzy I've watched black bears walk down the same trail 5 minutes after a brown so keep the bait pile light and a brown should move off if he doesn't have a steady source of food. Have you saw any sign in the area your baiting? PM me and we can chat if you want. Steve

Most folks have bait out already, some have even taken bears. Chack out the bear report thread and good luck!

We put ours out near Hatchers Pass last Sunday afternoon. We haven't been back to check it yet, but the snow cover was light so they should be moving.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default Tracks