Thread: Taku River

Default Taku River

Anyone have any local knowledge about how to get up and around in the Taku? Looking to get a jet boat (anyone know of any deals in Juneau?) and would love to start doing some fishing up the river but I have very little knowledge about the place. Looking for do's and dont's in the river, places to camp, places to fish, etc. Would really like some ride along advice if and when I get a jet boat. If you have anything for me, I would really appreciate it.
    Also, looking for the same kinda info on the rivers up Berners Bay. I want to fish Antler Lake for grayling but have heard it's kinda sketchy getting up there even with a jet boat.

Thanks
    Erich

I'll split gas! I used to be a river guide so I'm ok at jet boating I guess
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

AKPM,

I'll let you know when I get a boat. Definitly would be a great help with any experience you have. I used to run up Petersburg Creek and the Stikine a little ways with a 14' SeaArk, but I hear the Taku is a little more complex.

If only I had the money for a boat I'd be trying to get into canada a bit more, I bet theres cool stuff up there
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

epw-

eMail me. I've got a lead on a boat for you.... don't know what your budget is, etc. but I was just talking to a friend today with a "spare" boat in great shape.

I'll forward your eMail.

-Case

PS: both you and AKPM drop me a note with your schedule for the next week or two. It's not river boating, but I still want to get the Can Can up past Jaw Pt. and look for some sturgeon.
    M/V CanCan - 34' SeaWolf - Bandon, OR
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]