Thread: what Kershaw pocket knife?

Default what Kershaw pocket knife?

I've been using Gerber pocket knives for the last 5 or 6 years and they served well when new, but they just don't hold an edge for very long anymore. I really like the look and feel of the Kershaw knives, but having a hard time deciding on which one.

I like the size of the "Leek" but I don't care for the slick handle or the straight blade. Anybody have any insight or experience with that straight blade that you care to comment on?

I like the look and feel of the "Scallion" but I would like something a little larger.

I haven't been able to find, but like the look of the "Vapor" and "Blur".

Next question is on what blade type you prefer. I have never owned a serated blade or a combo serrated/plain edge. What is your preferrence and experience. What knife would you recommend?

I've got a Scallion and a Whirlwind. If you want the flat profile - I'd get the Leek. The Chive is way too small (had one for a day) and the Scallion is still a bit small. The semi-serrated Leek would be a good one - plus it has a slider that helps keep the blade from opening in your pocket.

I have the straight edge Whirlwind - and would go back with a semi-serrated edge of that size or one of their other models (mine was a gift so the price was right).

I like the Ken Onion speed-safe assisted opening models. Most of the other major knife makers are making similar assisted opening models. For the money though - Kershaw does pretty good. The new Cyclones look cool - I like the ones with the chisel point - like the Tanto.

Hope this helps

Default Spyderco?

BuckNRut you might want to also look at some Spyderco pocket knives. I love mine and it seems to hold an edge well. Just my 2 cents.

Default kershaw knives

I have the Kershaw blackout knife...model # 1550...works great for me. It holds an edge real well also

Quote Originally Posted by blakdimnd View Post