Thread: 12 gauge 18 inch barrel for waterfowl hunting

Default 12 gauge 18 inch barrel for waterfowl hunting

Hi,

I am totally new to anything to do with hunting. I want to start small with waterfowl and small game hunting. I recently bought an 18inch barrel 4+1 shot 12 ga shotgun. Only after buying did I realize its barrel was shorter than what a lot of bird hunters use. I would like to hunt waterfowl and birds with it, but I am not sure if this would be feasible, or could be done with an extra full choke or something. I am also looking for people who are going waterfowl or bird hunting, to join and learn the ropes with them and help out. Thanks. I just moved to anchorage, so am looking for hunting opportunities reasonably near to anchorage area.

What kind of gun is it? Chances are they make extra barrels for it that you can buy. They usually run about $300 brand new but you can probably find a used one for a decent price. Make sure you get a plug for that magazine too, regulations only allow a 2+1 set up for waterfowl in AK.

as far as hunting goes, the season is pretty much done now. But if you do a search in this forum you are going to find a gold mine of info. There really are no secret areas around here. Everybody pretty much hunts the same spots. Start doing your research now, and you will be ready for next season.
    Some people call it sky busting... I call it optimism
    "Swans are a gift" -DucksandDogs
    I am a shoveler's worst nightmare!

put a mod or ic choke in and it would be a field gun for close up ptarmigan or grouse. for ducks you should have a 26" or bigger. longer the barrel the smoother your swing.
    I will never be a "Prostaffer" its not that I am not good enough
    but its because I refuse to pimp products for free.

yep..pretty much what they said...check on getting another barrel for...

Other members..you see here...another possible member of the ADHA!..lol
    President of Alaska Waterfowl Assoc.
    http://akwaterfowl.com