Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Walther PPK

Default Walther PPK

i was given a Walther PPK and am looking for some history in regards to this model. It has the following markings: Waffenfabrik Walther, Zella-Mehlis (Thur) Cal 7.62 m/m. The hand grips are brown with black swirls with a Walther banner/flag.

Thanks

I'm no expert, but I would bet that you have a 1931-45 (probably Nazi-era) Walther. http://www.gunclassics.com/ppk.html

In short, you have a bad-guy gun.

Yep, definitely Nazi: “Walther’s original factory was located in Zella-Mehlis in the state (Land) of Thuringia. As that part of Germany was occupied by the Soviet Union following World War II, Walther was forced to flee to West Germany, where they established a new factory in Ulm.” http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...46#post1188946

Quote Originally Posted by MarineHawk View Post
    I'm no expert, but I would bet that you have a 1931-45 (probably Nazi-era) Walther. http://www.gunclassics.com/ppk.html

Bad-guy gun because it was a Nazi era gun??

Quote Originally Posted by MarineHawk View Post

thanks, the pic at the link looks exactly like it.

Its a keeper for sure,congrats someone loves you
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

My Mom gave it to me, it was my Dad's gun. You are right, lot's of love there.

Nazi-era manufacture doesn't necessarily equate to a nazi weapon. Most of those were marked as such. There's a war era PPK in my family too (as well as a few of more recent Interarms manufacture. It's a very well engineered and manufactured pistol that I think is a joy to carry and shoot.
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

Quote Originally Posted by iofthetaiga View Post