Thread: Interior...are they gone?

Question Interior...are they gone?

Hey guys, this is my first year waterfowling, I hunt the north pole fairbanks area, I noticed all of the smaller ponds, sloughs and even some of the slower rivers are frozen so im down to one river spot which was AWESOME last week and I only saw 2 the past 3 days..... so is it over? Can we expect more geese and ducks to come thru the area or is it time to hang it up?thanks

Short answer: Yes, the ducks are gone.

Long version: You might still find a few pockets that are holding birds, but the majority are gone. Anything left will be actively migrating, so you might see a few in a pocket one day and nothing after that. This time of year, you have to go south, and even then, the reports aren't great. If you do want to keep trying, my recommendation is to hit bigger water (Tanana, Delta Clearwater, etc), but don't get your hopes up. Most birds scram at the first sight of ice up here.

Good luck!

I'll give it one more go this weekend, but I'm guessing it will be slim pickin' from here on out.
    Passing up shots on mergansers since 1992.

Thanks for the (depressing) info guys, guess its time to get the traps ready or start hunting ptarmigan... I can't belive we only have 5 weeks of real waterfowl season, doesn't seem fair...everyone else (including the lower 48) seems to get to hunt in the snow and ice, but I guess they dont get - 50 either. I would almost want to head down to Anchorage/valdez just to get a chance at my 1st goose