Thread: Waterfowling near Fairbanks?...

Default Waterfowling near Fairbanks?...

Guys,
    may be finally able to live a lifelong dream and move to Alaska in the near future. I grew up in southern MN and have lived in Devils Lake ND for about 24 years. I grew up waterfowling and later moved to DL as it is quite possibly the best waterfowling this side of Stuttgart, ARK. I'm an amateur gundog trainer (Labs), and to give you an idea how big waterfowling is here, my 4 year old YLF Josie (Jacie's Dakota Gold) has made roughly 600 retrieves in her first three seasons, about 85% waterfowl.

The job I've applied for is in Fairbanks so the question is, will we still be able to get good waterfowling in that area? For that matter, how about grouse, ptarmigan, or even upland shooting preserves?

Either way, my two girls are coming with. In addition to crafty old veteran Josie, I have an extremely talented 14 month FT pedigree BLF pup named Sunny (Gabbriella's Dakota Sunrise) who will be finished in about 3 months...

It appears that you have already asked this question on the Refuge. The Fairbanks guys didn't appear to respond too much.

There are not many Fairbanks guys on this waterfowl forum.

The usable season up there is short unless you can get to the Clearwater near Delta and deal with the ice. There are other pot holes with open water year around that hold mallards, but they are hard to find and folks don't talk about their location on the intertubes.

The one thing that lots of folks don't understand about Alaska is that it is one huge swamp with water and food everywhere. This does not concentrate the birds, but spreads them out over large inaccessible areas. There are certain places that the birds like but a little pressure and they are out of there to someplace safe. The Tanana river south of FBX acts as a flyway to Canada so it has some pretty good bird migration in September and early October before freeze up.