Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: King Set-ups: What works for you

Default King Set-ups: What works for you

This is in no way an add on to the Mutt thread, I don't want it to regress into a pissing match either. I wondering what folks 'Go To' setups for kings throughout the state. I will start.

We catch kings consistently throughout the year, May/June spawners and July-April feeders. This past summer on my boat we landed roughly 70 legal king salmon. Fishing with others probably 40 more or so along with literally a 100 shakers 20-27.9 inches (all safely released in the water). So we do get a few though I am by no means a pro. This year:

#1 was a black/brown/purple Silver Horde hooch with a purple hot spot UV flasher. Feeders loved this rig. Hooch set up 20 inches behind the flasher, strip bait, and trolled @2 mph.

#2 was a Green King Katcher Fly behind a green hot spot UV flasher with a strip of bait. Trolled 1 MPH. Spawner killer (needlefish imitation)

#3 was a store bought herring roller in yellow behind the Luhr Jensen yellow UV flasher with the three eyes. Awesome for colored water near Wrangell. Trolled 2 MPH. Red herring early, green later.

#4 was a yellow Coyote spoon run naked

Now the reason I ask is there doesn't seem to be a secret lure. A local charter legend only uses threaded herring behind yelllow flashers. I fished with him one day and we got 9 spawners in 2 hours. I went there the next day and got our 6 on my herring roller. Another fella who prides himself on catching kings 12 months per year only uses King Katchers. He got 2 lunkers yesterday.

So is there something I need to add to the arsenal? Is there more to confidence in a specific set up that makes you run it longer hence more fish? I hate watching kings on the sonar come up and look at the gear and go away.
    Mike
    www.coffmancoveak.com
    Prince of Wales Island

I have had the best success with a threaded whole herring (green label) behind an 11" protroll flasher @ 2-2.5 mph