Thread: More Sausage pics

Looks like you have a nice little operation going on there! Are you making your own spice mixes up or buying store bought ones? How long does it normally take you to smoke the summer sausages? I have been wanting to make some of my own but haven't done it yet.

Not to step on Toklat's thread, but I've been making the summer sausage kits from Cabelas for the last 5 years and they are fantastic. I usually put 25 to 30% of ground pork shoulder in with the meat. Mix it up, stuff it in casings, smoke for 6-8 hours in a cold smoke fashion (less than 120 Deg.) THen you can hot smoke, or bake it until core temp is around 155. Comes out great, very straightforward and simple to do. Don't oversmoke or it will overpower.

It's often tempting to get the spices and make your own mix, but monetarily it doesn't really pencil out, and now you have 8 big jars of spices going stale for a few years before you use them up. The sausagesource.com is a good one, Kits there with no msg available.

Catchit's system is very close to our's! I've been playing with my own spice recipes for a few years but started with kits. if you buy spice in bulk you can do game,beef,pork to use it up and have snacks all the time! Lot's of experimenting some failure but lot's of fun and brings family together!

Wow, nicely done. I like the set up.

Do the same as Catchit stated above. Unless your a commercial operation it is a waste to buy all the spices and stock for 20lb batches. We like Hi-Mountain seasonings kits for the pepperoni stix and spice stix. They also make some great jal. summer sausage kits.
    Can be purchased at 3 Bears, Sportsmans, or Ak butcher supply (although he is a bit spendire for same product).
    Nice thing is the kits come with all the stuff necessary like casings, spices, and curing salt in one package.