Thread: Travel Writer Hitchhiking to 50 States by plane

Default Travel Writer Hitchhiking to 50 States by plane

Hi everyone!
    I am a travel writer who is "hitching" rides on private planes across the across US in an effort to visit all 50 states...obviously there are two that are going to be the most challenging. I've done 10 states so far, checked out Oshkosh, and am currently in Montana.

Next up is a ride to Idaho and then I'll be landing in Seattle on the 7th of October. It might be a stretch to try and reach Alaska on such a short notice, but I thought I'd put the word out about my project just in case.

You can follow my trip on JetHiking.com (I'm blogging about it) and we are working on a PBS TV series. However, right now it's just me while we search for more sponsors.

If anyone can help me out with a ride, please let me know. If it doesn't work this time around maybe later on in my journey. I'll be doing this for a while

Thanks!
    Amber

Amber,

Sounds like a lot of fun. I live out on the southwest end of the state...if you make it up here let me know and I'll see whether your location and mine intersect enough for me to assist. But I won't be flying the Tri-Pacer to or from Seattle soon, so can't help with that at the moment.

Troy
    14 Days to Alaska
    Also available on Kindle and Nook

I have done detailed flight planning from Washington to alaska as I thought I was going to have to bring my pitts up from the lower 48. Flying through northern canada is no mans land and is incredibly dangerous. Most that do it have a good reason (usually ferrying a plane up). Air ports are scarce and legs between air ports that sell fuel are far and few between. Unless the plane you are in has a 300-400+ mile range your going to be carrying fuel bladders as alot of the air ports dont sell fuel or if they do its not card reader fuel so its only sold during certian hours.