Thread: Stopping the bleeding

Default Stopping the bleeding

Does anyone know how to do stitches? I don't know how this would be explained over the forum, but I'm wondering about the basics. My dad cut himself hesterday and had to get himself sewn up. It kind of got me thinknig about what I would do if someones injury was bad enough to need sewing. I think I would just use gauze or bandages to stop the bleeding, but I'm wondering what other people have to say about this.

-Eric

Default Just my 2 Cents

Well,

Superglue works. A product called QuikClot will stop as well. Clean the wound, apply neosporin to help fight infection, then stitch him up. I go down about half way in the cut and close. I am no doctor or EMT. I have done this only once and until I could get them to a proper medical attention. I carry a standard issue surgical kit in my first aid kit. It has the proper stitching equipment. I have a brother who always seems to hurt himself on trips.
    Good Luck.

Ron

I second the quick clot! that stuff works really good....K

Default Suturing in the field is a BAD IDEA

Unless you can assure a sterile field and a sterile wound, closing the wound will only seal in infection!!!

Better to cleanse the wound - you do have cleansing supplies in your kit, don't you? - and then dress it with sterile bandage. Learn how to make butterfly bandages and use them to appose sides of an open wound instead of attempting to close it with sutures.

If the wound is serious enough for sutures it is serious enough for evacuation. Delayed closure of a wound may result in scar formation but it will not appreciably delay healing and it will go a long way toward prevention of infection. Besides, the girls like scars, don't they?

If you ever watch wound closure by a professional you will see the great care they take to ensure sterility. You simply cannot do that in the field without training and without a comprehensive medical kit.