Thread: Hunting Advise

Default Hunting Advise

Hello Everyone. Im a soldier in the Army. I recently arrived in Alaska this winter. I am from Oregon and have hunted there but never here in Alaska. I am asking anyone who has experience here in Alaska to give me some pointers to make my first moose and caribou hunt easyer. Where is a good place for Hunting moose with the use of a ATV. Same question for Caribou. To hunt with i have a .300 Ultra Mag. I believe its a powerful enough weapon. Oh yeah Im stationed at Fort Richardson. Im willing to travel but not across Alaska this is one huge state. Alright i apreciate any help.

SGT Ryan Irish

First thing I would recommend is to use your ATV as a mode of transportation to a hunt site and park it. do the rest on foot until you get your critter. Its seen all the time, folks tear up and down trails, stop and glass for a minute and then say that there are no animals in this state.

Theres alot of good moose spots left, just see above. As for caribou trip by ATV, your only option is to travel across the the state to chicken, or you could lie and put in for the nelchina hunt.

Your 300 is fine for up here.

Good luck and learning is half the fun.

As a fellow soldier i will recommend two things you need to do before you get serious about this.

1) Read the regulations with someone who understand them, they are confusing. Find someone who can help you decipher them

2) Talk to someone who has moose hunted before. It always sounds easy until you realize the real work ahead of you. Let someone elses experience help you avoid the mistakes they probably made their first time out.