Thread: Sausage Recipes vs. 'Spicing Packets'

Default Sausage Recipes vs. 'Spicing Packets'

It's been many years since I routinely used store-bought cake mixes, biscuit mixes, pancake mixes, or other items that implicitly preclude persons approaching and fine-tuning their cooking and smoking from a more personal and artistic perspective.

It is in that vein that I've also avoided the spicing packets sold en masse by a wide variety of outlets for persons to "make their own sausage at home."

Between that, and the often-mediocre results of taking meat to processors to have made into sausage; mistakes in processing that lead to a near-total waste of good meat, insufficient spicing, incorrect spicing, bristley attitudes, lack of communication or returned phone callls, and more, have, on a number of occasions, led me to attempt to feret out good sources for sausaging recipes.

I'm a decent cook, but an admitted novice at sausaging. I love old-style hard-smoked, dry, and fermented European sausages. Landjaeger, hard salamis, and I go WAY back.

It was with this frame of mind and past experiences that I went 'mining' on the internet to see if I could uncover recipes for the types of sausages I like.

At the link below, you may well find something of interest. There's many recipes to choose from. I can't personally vouch for the end product in any of them, but the offerings are impressive, and it comes from the combined efforts of customers at a butcher supply place in British Columbia. I'm pretty sure they speak fluent moose in B.C., too.

Let me/others know if you try any of these, and any input as to modifications, etc., that worked for you.

http://estores.wws5.com/stuffers.com...s/sausrecp.pdf

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time