Thread: Inboard Jet Boat Help

Unhappy Inboard Jet Boat Help

After some searching around the net and this forum (great resource) I still can't find a direction to go with my new boat. So here goes. BTW I am new to jet boating;

I traded an UTV for a used Wooldridge boat (19') vintage 1978 with an inboard engine and a Hamilton 752 Jet. Not to get into the details of what happened but I kinda got hosed on the deal, basically the engine/Jet doesn't seem to have enough power/thrust to push the boat on step.

The nitty gritty;
    The engine is an Oldsmobile 260 bored out 30 over with an RV cam (straight from a car). Supposedly when it was new it made 105 hp, even the 307 only made 140 hp. The Hamilton 752 requires 100 - 250 hp according to their manual to operate, and have a maximum speed of 5000 RPM. The boat itself I'm not too sure about yet, still getting with Wooldridge about the model since the plate on the hull is not legible.

So I loaded up my new prized boat and fired it up in a local lake to see what it could do before tackling a river. First thing, it is quite loud. So much so that I would have to wear ear plugs if I used it for any amount of time. The manifolds are water cooled, with risers behind them which then exit through the transom below the water level. Already I am thinking something is up with the headers.

Out of the gate at full throttle I can only reach 3100 RPM, not enough. Only about 500 ft/lbs of thrust created at those RPM's and the boat could not get on step. This is an empty boat with 2 adults in it. When I lifted the doghouse to see if anything was wrong it created slightly more power and got on step, but not quickly. Not enough power to be comfortable going up a river with gear in hopes of getting a moose. With the doghouse back down it then lost power again. The back of the doghouse is open, so heat or exhaust fumes is causing my power loss I think.

These are my current thoughts;