Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to cook a duck

Default How to cook a duck

I'm not much of a waterfowler. I'm a rank novice but I see myself enjoying more of it in the future. I do, however, know how to cook.

Some of you out there are stuck between your love of the hunt and your distaste for the duck. My guess is you're doing it wrong (cooking the duck, that is).

Please allow me to help.

Wild fowl should generally NOT be fully cooked. Rare-ish is best, flavor and texture wise.

Erik's Dabbler* with Alaskan Wild-berry Ragout

-Prep two duck breasts (pluck, remove pellets, rinse, pat dry) but leave the skin on
    -Smear a heavy skillet (cast iron is best) with a thin coat of bacon fat and set on med-high heat
    -Season flesh-side of breast with kosher or sea salt and a bit of pepper
    -When bacon grease begins to smoke place breasts in skillet SKIN SIDE DOWN.
    -DO NOT TOUCH breasts for 8 minutes--if heat is too high lower of remove pan for bit but don't reposition breasts
    -Check your watch and at 8 minutes turn breasts and cook for another 6 minutes

-At 6 minutes check for browness, cook another minute if needed then remove to plate to rest. Turn heat down to medium.
    -While meat rests, deglaze pan with a splash of water and a 1/4 stick of butter
    -As soon as butter melts add 1/4 cup thinly sliced mushrooms (I like boletes from my yard-but again, whatever you like) saute until tender (2-3 minutes)
    -Add 1/3 cup red wine (whatever you like) and a pinch of thyme.
    -Once wine reduces (about 2-3 min) add 1/4 cup mixed wild berries (I like blue, black currants, & highbush cranberry--whatever you like) and cook until berries begin to break down (another 2-3 min)
    -Turn heat to lowest setting and taste-test (add salt if desired)