Thread: Battery issues

Default Battery issues

This is sort of a follow-up on an older thread about batteries.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...-need-changing

Part of the discussion on that thread was regarding the benefits of using 2 6-volt batteries as opposed to 2 12-volt batteries on an RV. After reading on this forum I think I have several problems.

I'm relatively new to RVing and have found that my battery runs down quite quickly. I have a Chalet pop-up camper-trailer, very similar to an A-liner. I bought it new a couple of years ago. It has a single 12 volt deep cycle marine battery with 80 AH. I'm guessing that's why my battery life is limited.

One poster on that thread said (The two Golf Cart 6 volt batteries will give you around 450 min res @ a 25 amp draw, meaning if you are pulling 25 amps (which is a lot), they will last 450 min before needing to be recharged.

The two Group 24 12 volt deep cycle batteries will give you about 250-300 min reserve.)

That would mean I apparently have about 125-150 minutes reserve with a single 12 volt battery at a 25 amp draw. The furnace/blower unit is probably my biggest draw and it looks like it takes 3.4 amps. My wife likes to have several lights on.

I think I have room for 2 batteries so it sounds logical to go with 2 6 volt batteries in series. It sounds like it would about triple my battery use time. Someone mentioned the onboard charging system, my second problem. I think the Chalet does not have a charging system. How expensive is it to have a charging system installed and what are the problems associated with installing a charging system for 2 6-volt batteries?

Any suggestions/recommendations to improve my battery life would be greatly appreciated.

Just remember that your system is most likely a 12 volt system and if one of your 6 volt batteries goes bad you will not have any power for them lights.

Good point. Do others with dual 6 volt systems carry a backup battery or just take their chances?