Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Minimum OAL is too long, now what?

Default Minimum OAL is too long, now what?

I ran into a slight problem with 200 gr. Nosler partitions in my Marlin 30-06. The minimum recommended COAL is too long for my chamber. Is there a formula somewhere for how much to reduce the powder charge so I can reduce the OAL in order to prevent exceeding pressure limits?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.

Dunno of any formula other than this: Start at minimum recommended charges and work up slow.

I am in my first year of reloading (haven't blown myself up just yet) so take my post with that in mind...

First off how much bullet is seated down in the case? The COAL in the book as is a little gray anyway since it usually accounts for the tip of the bullet which doesn't technically matter since it never contacts the lands anyway.

I suppose that the 200 partition just has an ogive that is further forward than the bullet used to specify COAL. For pressure as long as you are not jammed into the lands then what really matters is how deep the bullet is seated into the casing. I would try a couple lighter bullets and see how deep they seat when set at the min COAL to get a better idea whether or not you are actually using more case capacity by seating the partitions deeper. I would bet that the partition seated under min COAL still uses less case capacity than a monolithic boat tail 180 set to book spec. In the end a hornady OAL gauge used to find COAL to the ogive, back off 10 to 15 thousandths then start low and work up.

Yea start low and work up.