Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mushrooms

Default Mushrooms

I just joined and posted a thread on the hiking forum about your favorite wild mushrooms. I didnt see this forum, so... What are some of your favorite mushrooms to collect. Dont share your secret spots, because I wont be sharing mine.

Quote Originally Posted by ScabbyMcBrittlebottom View Post
    I just joined and posted a thread on the hiking forum about your favorite wild mushrooms. I didnt see this forum, so... What are some of your favorite mushrooms to collect. Dont share your secret spots, because I wont be sharing mine.
    Since I am not a Mushroom expert I like to pick puffballs. They are easy to identify and taste good.
    My secret spots are private property so other forum members couldn't pick there anyway.
    I was thinking I need to get together with Marcus so he can give me some pointers.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

Im not a mushroom expert either. There just seems to be so many edible mushrooms around and so few of us to pick em. I just dont get it.

Quote Originally Posted by kasilofchrisn View Post
    Since I am not a Mushroom expert I like to pick puffballs.
    I get those in my yard but haven't eaten any (no expert here, either). I thought they were a spring thing, but I'm still getting them now. Maybe because this is such a wet summer?

Quote Originally Posted by FamilyMan View Post
    I get those in my yard but haven't eaten any (no expert here, either). I thought they were a spring thing, but I'm still getting them now. Maybe because this is such a wet summer?
    I always find them in the fall. Usually around the start of duck season Sept 1st.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

Hedgehog mushrooms are underappreciated and we have loads of them by Seward!

Default Porcini . . .