Thread: Kenai Coho (Fly) Line and Lure Advice?

Default Kenai Coho (Fly) Line and Lure Advice?

I'm a total novice when it comes to fly fishing. I'm planning on doing some fly fishing for Silvers on the Middle Kenai later this month into early October and need some (brand specific) advice on line, leader, leader connectors and lures.

I have an inexpensive Reddington Crosswater 9', 8 wt. fly rod/reel combo that I will be using. It is currently rigged with whatever (orange) fly line that it came with when I bought it as a combo two years ago.

Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Some good fly suggestions there, thanks.

How about some advice on line set-up? Should I just use the floating line that came with the reel or is there an alternative that will make casting easier? Should I switch to a sink tip? What leader do you suggest?

I really am coming into this endeavor blind as the only 'fly fishing' I have done on the kenai didn't involve any casting, just drifting down the middle of the river for rainbows. The last fly casting I did was about 20 years ago bass fishing in Minnesota, lol. I'm going to watch, "A River Runs Through It" for a tune up before I head up

If you go with the floating line you will get some practice with line handling, which is always helpful. You want your leader to be at least as long as your 9' rod in order to get down deep. Take a little time to tie on some more tippet and you'll save a bunch of time swinging the fly over the fish's heads. You will most likely end up with 3 split shot on for the Kenai, but you should try to see how deep you can get without them first. Look up "stack mending" and practice that too. If you go with a sinking line you will need to experiment with different casts and leader lengths to get just the right swing, as line mending won't be an option.