Thread: Moose hunting help!

Post Moose hunting help!

Hi I'm new to moose hunting and was trying to get some tips. I've hunted since I was big enuff to walk but in tennessee and not sure of moose habits. Hows the best way to hunt them? Any good places within 100 miles from fairbanks? any help would be awesome! I have rifle and bow and ready to use either one.

Do you have an atv, boat, canoe, raft, horses, plane to hunt with? Or are you on foot?

Why are you asking after the season has started?

Have you read the regulations? Are you a resident?

Mornings and evenings are the most productive but they do get up in the afternoon and feed some at that time or move from one area to the next.

Most people spot and stalk then, some call them in, and others bump and shoot them.

I have a ATV and a good set of legs. I can use either one. I know I'm alittle late on asking info. I have read the reg and got them memorized. I am a resident. What is bump and shoot?

Quote Originally Posted by Dustin Bennett View Post
    Any good places within 100 miles from fairbanks?
    Are you a resident? unit 20 has restrictions on non-res hunters that make it hard to find a spot.

goldstream valley
    creamers field
    tanana flats
    north of fox near the bruns from a few years ago.

Moose hold up in thick cover near water, or they wander around for miles and miles. depends on their mood.
    get up high and glass. dont shoot one in a swamp. dont shoot one further than a half mile from your transportation.

I know I'm alittle late on asking info. I have read the reg and got them memorized.
    Well you're already ahead of just about everyone else in the state who isn't a lawyer, and this includes some LEOs I have met.

Quote Originally Posted by AK Ray View Post
    dont shoot one further than a half mile from your transportation.
    What perfect world do you live in......???
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!