Thread: Good gps for ak rivers

Default Good gps for ak rivers

Hi Guys,

I am new to Alaska and this will be the first year I can hunt. I am finding it hard to find people to hunt with since I am not from the area. So instead of getting super lost on an ATV I figured I would float a river or two this year to try to get my Moose, black bear, brown bear or caribou basically what ever I see. I feel more comfortable on a river than driving around on a four wheeler and who. My question is I am trying to find detail maps of rivers and finding that a little hard to be. But I thought I would feel better if I had a nice GPS to track location and make sure I don't get turned around. Is there a GPS that any one us, or topo map add on for GPS that gives good detail of the river. Any help would be great,

Thanks
    Last edited by kingfisherktn; 08-29-2012 at 13:27.

I've always preferred a good topo of the area folded into a see-through plastic map case. That way you have a much bigger picture to look at vs. the small screen of a gps. If I can't look at the map and figure out where I am, I can use my gps to just give me coordinates to cross reference on the topo map.

I would agree, if you want detail you're better off with a good topo map sealed in a ziploc bag or some other waterproof container. If wanting a GPS, the Garmin 76CSx is tough to beat. It floats and is relatively water proof. That is, water proof if you drop it in water, I wouldn't try submerging it very deeply though. On my float trip last year I took a topo map of the river and loaded Garmin's MapSource base layer onto the 76CSx. The detail / resolution of the MapSource layer was not on par with the paper topo, but most major river features were discernable.

Default Re: Good gps for ak rivers

I have been happy with my Garmin Etrex Vista hcx. I got a 512mb micro sd card and loaded the free mti basemaps from http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/maps/state/all .