Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Winchester Mdl 70 Trigger (safety issue)

Default Winchester Mdl 70 Trigger (safety issue)

http://www.rifleshootermag.com/gunsm...605/index.html

Rifle Shooter GunSmithing Section
    Article: One Man’s Perfect Rifle by Jon R. Sundra
    Page 3 of article

The author is stating in his article that there is a safety issue with the Winchester Model 70 trigger since it does not block the trigger's movement. He stated that if the trigger is pulled with the safety on and for some reason there is an obstruction or other factor which prevents the trigger from returning to its forward position, releasing the safety will discharge the rifle.
    I was a little concerned, since this is the first time I have read about the trigger/safety issue and knowing that Model 70s are so popular. Anyone ever experience this problem before with Winchester type triggers ?

Default model 70 trigger

hi,im not a gun expert but i don`t think the gun would go off with anything in the trigger,the reason i say this is that the safety is in the bolt on the winchester,it is not like the trigger on the remington rifles.

It is possible, like getting hit with a falling star, but HIGHLY unlikely. The trigger return spring would have to break. It is a coil spring and even the pieces may prevent it firing. I will not lose a minute's of sleep over it. Sundra worries too much and is scrambling to find something to write about. I know of no better way of screwing up a rifle than to follow his instructions IMO. J.

this could happen. prolly alot more likely to happen to an ill trianed screwdriver "expert"....aka home gunsmith.

Quote Originally Posted by WDChurchJr View Post
    http://www.rifleshootermag.com/gunsm...605/index.html

Rifle Shooter GunSmithing Section
    Article: One Man’s Perfect Rifle by Jon R. Sundra
    Page 3 of article