Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 40 Mile Caribou 2012

Default 40 Mile Caribou 2012

The bride and I are catching a charter into the Yukon Charlie / 70 Mile region for caribou in two weeks. I've been hunting this herd from the road system for last three years. We decided to look for the elusive herd bull.

I thought I'd start some discussion on 40 Mile herd for the year, and perhaps post some pictures. I'd like to invite comment and helpful advise about the area and the herd. Who has done this hunt?

See ya around Tok.

Take a look at the Boone and Crockett caribou page. Good luck!

I am flying out of Fairbanks on the 25th to hunt them. My second trip to Alaska. Looking forward to it. I think we are in GMU 20B.

Spoke to Fish & Game in Tok yesterday, they're saying the herd is dispersed right now from Chena to Good Paster. 40mile reports one Tundra Donkey down so far

Anyone hear anything else out there?

It's been a long time since i've done this hunt, figured I might as well give it a shot and see what happens. Will be keeping an eye on this thread.

Any 40mile bou reports out there? I'm doing final prep for the trip. Anyone hunting this herd this year?

This is my first time into that area. Can anyone give me an idea of what to expect? I'm thinking it will be similar terrain to area around Eagle. I'm told the bou are dispersed in groups of 5-10 or so. I'm used to seeing these animals migrate, moving from A to B. Are they trailing and patternable in their "home" range?

I'm looking for some "cliff note" from anyone that's done this fly in before. PM if you prefer. Looking for some discussion please.

Quote Originally Posted by catamount View Post
    Any 40mile bou reports out there? I'm doing final prep for the trip. Anyone hunting this herd this year?