Thread: Hunting companions wanted for SW Afognak trip, mid-Oct

Default Hunting companions wanted for SW Afognak trip, mid-Oct

I got drawn for cow elk on SW Afognak for Oct. 8-22nd and would strongly prefer not to go it alone... I thought I had a couple people interested but it looks like I'm on my own. If someone else out there has a DE 713 tag or looking for bears or even just wants to shoot some deer, I'm more looking for someone to share costs with and camp with for safety. I have a young family and safety is a priority to me. I was intending to fly to Kodiak around Oct. 13th and then take an air taxi to Malina Lakes and camp out for roughly a week or until I get my game, then go back. I plan to buy an electric bear fence and rent a sat phone and camp somewhere near Malina Lakes and hike every day looking for the elk. I've been an Alaskan resident for about 5 years and hunted moose here, but before that I hunted elk in Alberta about 5 years. Anyway, post back or message me if interested.

Garnet

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

couple questions to fill the blanks...

first this is my ultimate solo hunt dream!!! congrats on the tag, i have yet to pull one and keep trying...

so...

what does spilt cost equate to? 50/50? on that.. are you willing to spilt game harvested also? ( note bear tags open a few days after close of elk) are you willing to hang out those extra days and help your partner fill his tag? even if you fill tag or not?

on another note i have investigated this hunt several times.. have you considered a DNR cabin in the area if avalible? $25 a night... is pretty secure lodging in that country.. weather sets in harsh that time of the year...

have you looked at the maps good an long? do you have a plan? have you looked at carrying a small pack raft or other if setting into a lake area? sure a lot shorter hike across the pond with a paddle.