Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lindseed oil or not?

Default Lindseed oil or not?

I am refurbishing a Marlin 336 Texan...it's a straight stocked 336RC and I think that makes it a Texan. I bit the bullet and bought brand new wood for it and am wondering if I use linseed oil on the stock and then don't like it can I apply tongue oil over the boiled lindseed oil later? Or what is the best oil finish if not linseed? I do not want much if any gloss.

I'm no expert on wood finishing, but I did a project earlier in the summer with a homemade mixture of equal parts of boiled lindseed oil, pine tree based turpentine and spar varnish. Wooden boat builders call it "gunnel lotion". The stock was dry to the touch in about 24 hours. The next day I rubbed some beeswax on the stock and I was very pleased with the looks of it. Real tung oil takes forever to dry and darkens the wood more than boiled linseed oil. I would see no problem appling boiled lindseed oil over tung oil after the tung oil dried. When I do it again, I think I will omit the spar varnish becasue it didn't mix well with the linseed and turpentine.

Don't put either, they aren't waterproof.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Make it easy. Thinned Birchwood Casey Truoil. You can get it anywhere and it works. If linseed oil, use "Linspeed".

I used TruOil for about 40 years with complete satisfaction. But about 5 years back I started finishing muzzleloaders with tung oil finish from the hardware store (comes in gloss or satin, but I've only used satin). Lots tougher finish than TruOil, easier to use in some ways. I'm pretty sure I've bought my last bottle of TruOil.