Thread: .44mag., bullets and hunting ?

Question .44mag., bullets and hunting ?

The days of shooting a rifle may be behind me for good after the struggles of injury and complications which plague me so, I have decided to shift focus to the use of handguns if I am going to have any chance at hunting again.

I have a Ruger Super Blackhawk .44mag. 7 1/2" and am thinkig of giving this wheel gun the first go but ,I have only handloaded for and fired this revolver at targets.

After doing some reading and looking around for localy available bullets, I was able to find Swift A frame in 300grn, Barnes Buster in 300grn, 255 Keith hardcast by LBT and Speer Gold Dot/Deep Curl 270grn. I have ample supllies of Bullseye, H110, Win 296 and some Herc2400 powders on my shelf . The only bullet I have any reservations about is the Speer GDSP against thick moose hair and hide, the other three I would think would have superior performance over the Speer, but I have no experience first hand or otherwise any of these projectiles.

For those of you with handgun hunting experience, particularly big bore, the .44mag and any of these bullets or prefered factory fodder, I seek your suggestions. Also, what are your pet handloads for this caliber ?

I posted this in the "Handgun Hunting" forum also.

Thank you.

You have many options..........

Personally, I would go with a heavy, hard cast, gas checked, wide meplat bullet, 325 grains or heavier, pushed to 1200-1300 fps with either H110 or Lilgun if you're after big critters at close range. I get a more fps with Lilgun over H110 in the Encore, and the accuracy is good too.